ICPHSO 2017 Annual Meeting and Training Symposium has ended
avatar for Honorable Marietta Robinson

Honorable Marietta Robinson

U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission

Marietta S. Robinson is a Commissioner of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. President Barack Obama nominated Ms. Robinson on January 24, 2013, she was confirmed by the Senate on June 27, 2013, and was officially sworn in on July 2, 2013 to a term that expires in October 2017. Ms. Robinson practiced as a trial attorney for 35 years, handling a wide variety of complex litigation for both plaintiffs and defendants.  Ms. Robinson served from 1989 to 1997 as a federally-appointed trustee of the Dalkon Shield Trust, which disbursed more than $2.4 billion to more than 300,000 claimants in over 120 countries. She is a Fellow of the International Society of Barristers and served as its first woman president from 2010 to 2011.  In 2011, Ms. Robinson served as independent legal counsel to the Chair of the United Nations Peacebuilding Commission in Liberia.  She has taught as an adjunct professor at several law schools over the years and, most recently, at the Duke School of Law. In 2015, she was a speaker in the Distinguished Speaker Series of the World Bank Executive Committee. She has been listed for more than 15 years in Who’s Who in The World, In America, In American Law and Of American Women.  She is a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation and Michigan Bar, and in 2000 was the Democratic nominee for the Michigan Supreme Court.  In 2009, Ms. Robinson was an appointed member of the Judicial Advisory Committee for the Eastern District of Michigan and from 1985 to 1989 she served on the Michigan State Building Authority. She also served as a member of the Michigan State Bar Representative Assembly. Ms. Robinson earned a B.A. with High Distinction from the University of Michigan-Flint and a J.D. from the UCLA School of Law.